"Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances."

The 2013 Contest

Congratulations to our 2013 Richard A. Clarke National Scholarly Monograph Contest winners: Jane Stack and Samia Hossain. Below you will find documentation about the contest and its winners, and the First and Second Prize winning essays (pdf only).

Winning Essays

  1. Not Whether Machines Think, But Whether Men Do
    Jane Stack—First Place Winner
  2. Challenging the Legality of the U.S. Targeted Killing Program
    Samia Hossain—Second Prize Winner

The 2012 contest

The 2012 Richard A. Clarke National Scholarly Monograph Contest winners are Melissa Jane Kronfeld, Jiayi Zhou, and Tamara Zaman.

Winning Essays

  1. Killing Them With Kindness: A Softer Approach to Preventing Violent Extremism and Countering Radicalization in the War on Terrorism
    Melissa Jane Kronfeld—First Place Winner
  2. Local Solutions and Community-Oriented Policing
    Jiayi Zhou—Second Prize Winner
  3. Counterterrorism: Seeking Successful Policies at the International Frontier
    Tamara Zaman—Third Prize Winner

The 2011 contest

The 2011 Richard A. Clarke National Scholarly Monograph Contest winners are Sara Bjerg Moller, Dimitar Gerrgiev, and Jennifer L. Freer.


Winning Essays

  1. Lessons Learned and Unlearned: The Tenth Aniversary of September 11, 2001
    Sara Bjerg Moller—First Place Winner
  2. Failure of American Strategic Thought and 911
    Dimitar Georgiev—Second Prize Winner
  3. The Patriot Act and the Public Library: An Unanticipated Threat to National Security
    Jennifer L. Freer—Third Prize Winner